M: Moonshine

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

M: Moonshine

The illegal activity of moonshining holds a nostalgic place in our family history. Grandpa Jones (way before he was my grandpa) ran ‘shine. He’d leave Chillicothe, Missouri and drive down into north Arkansas to get the moonshine from Papa Goss. (Who also wasn’t our ‘Papa’ yet.) And back to Missouri he’d go.

moonshine1But … the stays in Arkansas got longer each trip. Because Papa Goss, besides making some of the finest ‘shine around, also had a daughter. A few months after she turned 18, Vernon Beatrice Goss married Evan Lewis ‘Casey’ Jones on August 4, 1935.

And the rest, as they say, is history.

And the children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren down the line have a special place in their heart for moonshine and the role it played in getting Casey and Bea together.

If you’re around the Georgia area, Hillcrest Orchards, in Ellijay, has a museum and moonshine museum on the premises. I haven’t had the pleasure of visiting, but if I ever get to Georgia, I’ll be sure to make a stop here.

http://www.hillcrestorchards.net/museum.htm

moonshine2

4 thoughts on “M: Moonshine

  1. This post makes me smile, I have a jug from the first farm my hubby and I owned in Ga. There was an old moonshine site on it. It looked a lot like the bottom photo with the barrels by a natural spring.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, you’d think! Actually, it’s funny, my Papa (great grandfather) made shine, my Grandma ran it, but I’m not much of a drinker. Although, when I saw an applepie moonshine recipe, we did have to try it out. Not really making true moonshine, it cheats and uses everclear. But it was still fun.

      Like

Leave a Reply

