S: Sunshine Cakes

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

S: Sunshine Cakes

Leafing through a small cookbook I have of the Prize Winning Recipes from the Los Angeles County Fair in 1935, I saw three winning recipes for Sunshine Cakes. I’ve never heard of Sunshine Cakes before and was intrigued. I started checking some of my other vintage cookbooks, and discovered several more recipes. Have they fallen out of favor? Or have I just missed this trend?

Here are the three prize winning recipes from 1935.

bbd_cookbook-cover2SUNSHINE CAKE, First Prize
Submitted by Mrs. Walter E. Carey, 547 N. Friends Ave, Whittier, Calif

1 ¼ C Cake Flour
¾ t Cream of Tartar
1 ½ C Sugar
½ C Water
6 large eggs
1 t Vanilla
½ t Almond

Whites and yolks beaten separately and until light, ¼ teaspoon salt add to whites. Sift flour once, measure, add cream of tartar, sift four times. Boil sugar and water until spins a thread, pour over egg whites, beat constantly till cool, add yolks which have been beaten until very light, fold in flour gradually, add vanilla and almond flavoring. Bake one hour in moderate oven, start in cool oven.

SUNSHINE CAKE, Second Prize
Submitted by Mrs. S. M. Rosedale, Yorba Linda, Calif

1 ¼ C Cake Flour (measure after sifting)
¾ t Cream of Tartar (level)
1 ½ C Sugar
½ C Water
6 eggs (whites equal to good ¾ C)

Sift flour once, measure, add cream of tartar and sift four times. Beat whites and yolks of eggs separately. Add ¼ teaspoon salt to water. Boil sugar and water till spins a thread. Pour over egg whites, beating constantly till cool. Add yolks, fold in flour gradually. Add flavoring, pour in ungreased tube pan and bake 1 hour.

CHOCOLATE SUNSHINE CAKE, First Prize
Submitted by Mrs. Walter E. Carey, 547 N. Friends Ave, Whittier, Calif

1 C Cake Flour
¼ C Sugar
1 ½ C Sugar
½ C Water
6 eggs
¼ C Bakers Cocoa

Whites and yoks beaten separately and yolks until very light, ¼ teaspoon salt add to whites. Sift flour once, measure, add ¼ cup cocoa, cream of tartar, sift four times. Boil sugar and water until spins a thread, pour over egg whites, beat constantly until cool, add yolks, fold in flour gradually, add 1 teaspoon vanilla. Bake one hour in moderate oven.

Other cookbooks that have recipes for Sunshine Cake are:

Nebraska Pioneer Cookbook, compiled by Kay Graber, 1974
Fannie Farmer Boston Cooking School Cookbook, (17th printing 1968)
Meta Given’s Modern Encyclopedia of Cooking, Volume 1, 1959
The Settlement Cook Book, 1954
Quality Cook Book, 1932
Searchlight Recipe Book, 1937

Sunshine Cake

5 thoughts on “S: Sunshine Cakes

    • Sorry for the late reply. My WordPress failed me. I check 3-4 times a day, to reply back to people. It says I’m ‘all caught up’, yet when I went to post a new blog, my page said there was one unseen comment. I am so sorry.
      I had tried one once. The recipe I’d tried was the one from The Settlement cookbook. I looked up the recipe. It’s similar to those I posted in the blog. There’s slightly less flour and sugar. A bit less cream of tartar. And some grated lemon rind. I baked it in a Bundt pan.
      it was okay. Not something I’d salivate over. Not terrible. I don’t know if that was from the recipe, or from a less than stellar cook.

      Like

  1. I had another comment on here. Someone asked about if I’d made a sunshine cake before and how it turned out. I went to look at the post to see what recipes I’d posted, so I could reply…and when I came back to try to reply to the comment…it had disappeared!
    I’m not sure if I accidentally hit the trash as I went to go to the original post, or what happened.
    I’m hoping that whoever it was sees this reply so they know I’m not just ignoring their question.
    I had tried one once. The recipe I’d tried was the one from The Settlement cookbook. I looked up the recipe. It’s similar to those I posted in the blog. There’s slightly less flour and sugar. A bit less cream of tartar. And some grated lemon rind. I baked it in a Bundt pan.
    it was okay. Not something I’d salivate over. Not terrible. I don’t know if that was from the recipe, or from a less than stellar cook.

    Like

Leave a Reply

