Y: Yeast like Grandmother Made

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

Y: Yeast like Grandmother Made

From an old newspaper article, undated.

bread1Take three-teaspoonfuls of flour, three of sugar, half a tablespoonful salt. Put all together into a pan, boil four good sized potatoes in a quart of water and when tender pour the water from potatoes into a jar. Mash potatoes fine and add to the rest. Boil a handful of hops in a quart of water, strain the water into the mixture, stir it briskly five minutes. When lukewarm add one cup of good yeast; let it rise and stir down several times. Next day put it into a fruit can or jug. Cork tightly and keep in a cool place ready for use. One cup of this is sufficient for four loaves of bread.

And on that thought I leave you. I’m off to pull out the bread machine and open that handy jar of ready to go yeast sitting in the refrigerator.

I love the ‘good ole days’. But I also love the time saving conveniences of living in our modern world.

kitchen1

4 thoughts on “Y: Yeast like Grandmother Made

  1. I’m thankful for dry yeast! The sour smell of the starter yeast isn’t missed. 😊 I do enjoy kneading the bread dough by hand ,and the aroma of fresh baking bread!! That bottom picture almost looks like my grandma in her kitchen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is really an old, old memory. My grandmothers and great-grandmothers made yeast. I was a small child and can remember my great-grandmothers from my mother’s side and my great-grandmother from my father’s side lived until I was seventeen years old. They could make the best biscuits one could eat. They melted in your mouth. This brings back sweet memories of times gone by. Thank you.

    Visiting from the A to Z Blog Challenge.

    Shalom,
    Patricia @ EverythingMustChange

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for sharing your memory with us, Pat. I agree, some of the old time cooking was the BEST! I have to admit though, I probably wouldn’t want to spend that many hours a week baking bread for the family.

      Like

Leave a Reply

